Albutt Championship Relays (Race 1 of 2) - Thursday 12th March 2015 - APOLOGIES - CHANGE OF VENUE

02 March 2015

The Solihull Championship Relays are named the “Albutt” Relays after the distinguished service of Enid and Bob Albutt to Solihull cross country and athletics. For twenty-five years, from 1983 to 2008, Enid and Bob ran many aspects of Borough athletics with tremendous commitment and with considerable success. ENID WILL BE PRESENT AT THE EVENT.


Year 7 - 4.30pm (girls and boys run at the same time).
Year 8/9 - 4.45pm (girls and boys run at the same time).
Year 10/11 & Senior - 5.00pm (girls and boys run at the same time) - Senior teams (Sixth Form) must contain at least one girl.
All runners run the same course (approximately 1150m).
The course is suitable for ‘spikes’.

  • Date:

    Thursday 12th March 2015 - APOLOGIES - CHANGE OF VENUE

  • Venue:

    Arden School is having a new block built on site and there are severe parking restrictions. With this in mind, Arden School have been able to secure the fields at Berkswell & Balsall RFC in order to hold the Albutt Relays at that venue instead of on their school fields.
    Arden staff will be marshalling the event.
    Berkswell & Balsall RFC
    Honiley Road
    Meer End
    Nr Balsall Common
    CV8 1NQ

  • Instructions:

    Championship relay rules:
    Three runners in each team.
    Take-overs take place in a marked out box by tapping hands.
    A separate ‘waiting’ box will be used by the second runners whilst they wait for first runners to arrive. They can move into the take-over box when their runners are visible. The same applies for third runners while second runners compete. The final runner enters a funnel and receives a disc as normal.
    All athletes must wear the school numbers (listed below) - it is the schools’ responsibility to bring numbers and pins.
    All members of a team wear the same numbers - e.g. if Smith’s Wood brings four teams of Year 7 boys, the first team of three runners all wear 46, the second team all wear 47, the third team all wear 48 and the fourth team must wear 46A (not 49, as this number is allocated to Tudor Grange - see below).
    Senior teams (Sixth Form) must contain at least one girl.

    Alderbrook 1, 2, 3
    John Henry Newman 4, 5, 6
    Arden 7, 8, 9
    Heart of England 10, 11, 12
    CTC 13, 14, 15
    Langley 16, 17, 18
    Light Hall 19, 20, 21
    Lode Heath 22, 23, 24
    Lyndon 25, 26, 27
    Park Hall 31, 32, 33
    St Martin’s 34, 35, 36
    St Peter’s 37, 38, 39
    Smith’s Wood 46, 47, 48
    Tudor Grange 49, 50, 51
    Grace Academy 52, 53, 54
    Solihull School 55, 56, 57

  • Contacts:

    • Teachers in charge of cross-country at the participating schools should be able to answer most questions you may have.